NEET Full Form

NEET Full Form

The full form of NEET is National Entrance cum Eligibility Test.

NEET full form

What is NEET (National Entrance cum Eligibility Test)?

NEET stands for National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for undergraduates. Earlier, the AIPMT or All India Pre-Medical Test was an All India Pre-Medical entrance test for the students who wish to pursue undergraduate medical courses likes MBBS, BDS, AYUSH etc. These exams were conducted for the students for both government and private institutions .

NEET is carried out by the National Testing Agency (NTA) and it provides the sequel or result to the Directorate General of Health Services under the State Counselling Authorities and Ministry of Health and Family Welfare for the allocation of seat.

The All India Pre-Medical Test or AIPMT and many other pre medical examinations which was conducted by various medical institutions or colleges were replaced by the NEET.

To streamline admissions for MBBS and BDS courses was the primary objective of NEET exams. It is a solitary entrance exam carried out for the admissions for more than 66,000 MBBS and BDS seats across the country.

The one and only entrance test for all the medical colleges or institutions across India is NEET, after the enactment of the NMC Act 2019.

History of NEET

Before the implementation of the NEET across the nation, prestigious colleges like AIIMS, IMS-BHU, KMC Manipal and Mangalore, JIPMER, etc. conducted their own entrance exams.

Initially, NEET was proposed to take place from the year 2012. However, the CBSE and Medical Council of India deferred NEET by a year, for several reasons. The Government of India announced the NEET, on 5th May 2013 where the NEET entrance was conducted for the first time. The test took place across the country for the students seeking admission for both undergraduate and postgraduate medicine. States including Karnataka, Andrea Pradesh Gujarat, West Bengal and Tamil Nadu strongly denied the NEET examination stating about the huge variation in the curriculum. The NEET exam was declared unconstitutional in the year 2012 by the Supreme Court of India, which was later brought back on 11 April , 2016.

NEET eligibility Criteria by NTA 

The test is conducted in a written mode. As per the authorities, a candidate must fulfill some mandatory parameters in order to be able to appear for the NEET or National Eligibility cum Entrance Test.
• He/she must be an Indian citizen.
• The candidate's age must be at least 17 years or on December 31, of the year of admission.
• The candidate must have passed 12th grade with an aggregate marks of 50% in Physics, Chemistry, Biology/ Biotechnology and English individually.
• The candidates belonging to SC/ST/OBC have a leverage, as the minimum marks required is 40% marks in Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology combined.
• There is no upper age limit for appearing the NEET examination.
Exam Pattern and structure :
• The panel of total 180 questions are asked in the exam.
• A set of 45 questions each from Physics, Chemistry, Botany and Zoology will be asked.
• Each correct answer fetches 4 marks and each incorrect response gets 1 negative marking.
• The duration of the NEET examination is 3 hours which is 180 minutes. in total.
• The total weightage of marks is 720 marks.

In the year 2021, there was an abrupt change of pattern of question paper in which, the paper was comprised of two sections. First section being A and second being B in all four subjects. Section A comprised of 35 compulsory questions and section B comprised of 15 questions out of which 10 questions had to be attempted.

JEE NEET Full Form 

JEE stands for Joint Entrance Exam, in order to get admission in various engineering colleges in India, a candidate must give JEE exam. This exam is conducted twice a year in which more than 15 lakh students appear. JEE can be categorized into JEE Mains and JEE Advanced.

NTA NEET Full Form 

NTA which is also referred as the National Testing Agency is a government agency of India, approved by the Union Council of Ministers. NTA was established in the year 2017 with an agenda to conduct entrance examinations for higher educational institutions. Vineet Joshi , the first Director-General of the agency, who also served as the secretary of the CBSE. NTA is responsible for conducting the examination like JEE, NEET UG, NET, CMA.

UG NEET Full Form 

NEET exams are conducted for both undergraduates and postgraduates. NEET (UG) is an entrance exam for the candidates aspiring to pursue undergraduate medical courses like MBBS and BDS.

MCC NEET Full Form 

MCC stand or Medical Counselling Committee. The final allotment of seats in the MBBS, BDS and other medical courses across the country is processed by the MCC NEET counselling. This committee was established by the DGHS or Directorate General of Health.

AIQ NEET Full Form 

AIQ stands for All India Quota. The undergraduate medical seats are parted as state quota i.e. 85% and All India Quota (AIQ) 15 %, which means 15% of the seats in all Government MBBS and BDS colleges are open for All India Candidates.

MTG NEET Full Form

MTG is the name of a book publication (@MTGBooks) which provides student-centered educational materials, exam appropriate course materials and workbooks. It helps the students to outperform in the competitive exams like NEET and NCERT.

Other full forms of NEET

NEET National Eligibility cum Entrance Test An all-India medical entrance exam
NEET Not in Employment Education or Training A young person who is not in education, employment, or training
NEET Nuclear Excitation by Electronic Transition A rare nuclear excitation occuring in isotopes
NEET NorthEast Estates and Trusts A law firm in US